Problems with Tenor Recorder

Recorder Forum Home Page Forum Teaching and Learning Problems with Tenor Recorder

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Alan Beckham
    Participant

Hi. Im new to the Tenor Recorder and Im having difficulties sounding the lower notes (below G). Am I not covering the holes properly or blowing too hard/ too softly? Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Thank you

Alan

Dick Mattson
    Participant

Cover the RH holes with tape and then try blowing. If the problem goes away, then you aren’t covering the holes properly. If the problem doesn’t go away, try blowing differently. If the problem does go away, then you have learned how to blow the lower notes. If the problem never goes away, then the problem might be with the instrument and you should get it professionally checked out. BTW, what kind of recorder is it?

Alan Beckham
    Participant

Hi. Thanks for your comments.

Its a Yamaha 304BII

Dick Mattson
    Participant

Were you able to figure it out?

Alan Beckham
    Participant

Im sure it is my right hand fingering that is the problem. I will just have to keep working at it!

Ken In Dallas
    Participant

Hey There… I’ve resolved Tenor issues for myself and students by sitting forward on the chair, using a chair that has no arm rests so that the arms can find their neutral hanging position, and by placing a thumb rest so that the right-hand pinky approaches its holes perfectly perpendicular to the instrument. For most, this means the rest will often place the right thumb exactly opposite the right middle-finger when holding the instrument. The resulting sharper bend now in the wrist hasn’t caused anyone any pain here to date.