Playing high 'f' on alto

Recorder Forum Home Page Forum Teaching and Learning Playing high 'f' on alto

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Ian Hayden
    Participant

I’m a fairly experienced amateur recorder player with a nagging problem. Although I can usually play a high ‘c’ cleanly on descant and tenor recorders, the similarly fingered ‘f’ note on my Moeck Rondo alto is problematic. Over the years I must’ve spent hours experimenting with various partial thumb/thumbnail positions in the thumb-hole along with tonguing adjustments without much progress.

Some practical advice from players who have mastered this particular note would be appreciated. I’m also wondering if modifiying the recorder’s hole geometry might help solve the issue. Can anyone recommend an alto model that has a stable, clear high ‘f’ note?

Thanks, Ian

Alto & tenor recorders with Killcare Players

recorderoz
    Participant

After 35 years, the high F remains a work in progress for me.

One thing which has helped is simple exercises which uses this note frequently. For example, the first 6 notes of the C scale, starting from the high C. Also a steady breath will help. I find concern about not hitting the note affects my air flow at precisely the wrong time.

Of course, it could always be an excuse to upgrade your instrument. The Moeck Rondo is a decent intermediate instrument, however a more expensive model will probably be easier to play. Assuming you can afford it of course.

I see you’re in NSW Australia. So am I. If an instrument upgrade is feasible, perhaps a call to Zana Clarke at Orpheus Music would be the go.. Details at the Orpheus Music site

• This reply was modified 8 years, 9 months ago by recorderoz.

Mostly alto, plays with Balmain Baroque

Norman Waksler
    Participant