Plastic Alto 415hz options?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Leslie Neilson
    Participant

Hello first post. I’m very new to recorders and have the entry level Yamaha soprano plastic one (the model above the clear colored plastic one). I’m looking for a plastic 415hz recorder as I love the more soothing sound of the lower frequency. I’d like to get an alto. I’m having a lot of trouble finding options but here’s the two (technically 3) I’ve found:

1) Zen-on Bressan 1500B, and its updated model the G-1A
    2) Bernolin resin recorder (not sure on model name)

The Bernolin one is expensive for me so I’ll probably stick with the Zen-on. Are these Zen-on models at 415hz? I didn’t see it specifically stated for them but I’d heard people say they were tuned for Baroque style.

Are there any other plastic options? Also, is there a best site to buy these Zen-on models because I’m having trouble finding them except on places like ebay.

Anonymous
    Inactive

We have been having a similar discussion on recorders.ning. The Zen-On is 440, I believe.

I would NOT recommend the G-1A. I sent mine to a friend who has the 1500B and he compared them (he has been playing for over 40 years). The newer one is not better, according to him. It is worse. I haven’t played the 1500B yet, but I have played the G-1A. It is not good. I have ordered the 1500B from Early Music Shop (http://www.earlymusicshop.com/product.aspx/en-GB/1002725-zen-on-bressan-alto-model-1500b-plain). It is costing me about $63 because it is coming from London.

I also have the Yamaha Ecodear, which I like a lot. The Yamahas, however, seem a tad sharp (as in cutting, not in tuning), but the Ecodear is more mellow to my hearing. I have the Aulos Haka Alto which I have just gotten and it is nice, too.

I considered the Bernolin, and I am sure it is nice, but it is just too much for me to spend on a resin recorder. Now, if I get really good in the future, maybe.