Difference between plastic and wood Mollenhauer Adris Dream

Recorder Forum Home Page Forum Recorder Makes, Models and Maintenance Difference between plastic and wood Mollenhauer Adris Dream

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Blockflöjt
    Participant

I’m a recent beginner. I’m thinking of buying a Mollenhauer Adris Dream Recorder.

I wonder about the difference between the plastic and the one with a plastic mouth piece and wooden body?

My priorities and wishes are to be able to play as long as I want to in different climates without worrying to much about the recorder. And to be able to play/find the different notes fairly easy.

On my current plastic Yamaha YRA-402B Ecodear Alt I’m struggling with condensation as well with the low tone (F). I find it very sensitive and there is very “little room” to move before it turns sour. However I have never tried any other recorder, so don’t know how much it’s about the recorder and how much it’s about technical skills. (I know about blowing softer.)

Can I play the wood for several hours?
    How much more sensitive will wood be when played outside or transported in cold climates?
    How often should wood be oiled?
    Will it be less condensation with the wood or will there still be a lot of condensation in the plastic mouth piece?
    Is there “more room” when playing the low tone (or the higher 3, with a half tumb on the back) on a wooden recorder?

• This topic was modified 3 years, 7 months ago by Blockflöjt.
    Richard Hureau
    Participant

I think if I were you I’d first try a different plastic recorder. The Ecodear 402B has a notoriously narrow windway (much narrower than the otherwise similar Yamaha 302B), which gives it its characteristic muted sound, but makes clogging happen very easily. I’d recommend trying a 302B or an Aulos 509B (“Symphony”) or Aulos 709B (“Haka”).

Blockflöjt
    Participant

Thanks for your advice, its good to know about the narrow windway of the Ecodear 402B.