Beginner saying hello

Recorder Forum Home Page Forum Teaching and Learning Beginner saying hello

Tagged: 

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Maggie Jones
    Participant

Hello everyone. I am a beginner, teaching myself alto recorder. I am currently using THE RECORDER GUIDE and THE NEW NINE-NOTE RECORDER METHOD by Penny Gardner.

I am progressing slowing on my own and fear I am learning bad habits that are impeding my progress. A year or two ago, I managed to arrange with a very nice recorder teacher, a few lessons but financially, could not keep them up. I hope to be able to reestablish them again. I get frustrated with my timing. I am finding some help with MuseScore. MuseScore, for those not familiar, is a free-ware notation program. In the books I am using I am able to copy duets into MuseScore and then play back only one recorder and I play the other (I hope that makes sense). I can set the tempo of playback and increase as I improve.

Glad this forum was created and hope to see it grow and get to know more recorder players and any tips for self-teaching beginners welcome.

Cheers,
    Maggie

Louis Lima
    Participant

Very nice to meet you Maggie! My name is Louis Lima and I started to learn the treble recorder in December 2013. I’ve been on my own as can’t afford a recorder teacher, and there aren’t any around here anyways. I have a YouTube channel called “Getting in Treble” which is a “diary” of sorts šŸ™‚

I agree the hardest part for us self-learners is that we might be picking bad habits along the way. I try to listen to what I do and tend to be very self-critical, but also like to have fun…

Hey, I have that book and did 2-3 duets with my daughter last year. I tried dueting via Skype with someone in England, but it really didn’t work very well. Anyways, if you want to try my Skype handle is louislima and my e-mail address is louis.lima@yahoo.com

Cheers,
    Louis

Luca Dragani
    Participant