"bad" note

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hello, I’m new here. I am just beginning to play my Mollenhauer Canta (baroque) tenor recorder, and loving it. I’ve learned the C scale and added F# and Bb so I can get started with tunes in three keys. My problem note is the F#. It sounds, but the sound is burred or reedy. I’ve tried blowing it very softly, and that helps a bit, but it seems to be just basically a weak note. Anyone else have this problem? Any ideas on a cure? Thanks.

Ken In Dallas
    Participant

Hi, I think most people would consider me an advanced player, and I am bugged by the same problem with my one-year old Mollenhauer Denner Alto. When I started playing recorder in the 1960s, Moeck was the most desired recorder and there were not so many hand makers as today. I still own and play some of those Moecks and (at least mine) have no ‘reedy-ness,’ but I find them (slightly) less in tune and versatile (straight windways and simpler tapers.) I don’t fully understand it all, but some back then were Mean Temperament, tuned by ear by the maker but less in tune for some infrequent keys. I believe modern recorders are most often of equal temperament and are designed and manufactured with greater computer (accuracy) use.

My Denner has a few annoying ‘reedy’ notes too. I hate it; I hate them. So I guess I’m leading up to saying that even modern recorders are problematic to modern musicians and student musicians. Bach would have killed for a keyboard as Equally Tempered and today’s cheapest Fender (student) electric guitar. Recorders are Ancient Instruments that eventually lead up to the development of the modern transverse flute along a path of many, many changes and improvements. The sound of a recorder is just uneven in character. It’s the sound we love. Take a look at all the ‘plumbing’ on a bassoon, oboe, or clarinet. It’s all to even things out.