Yamaha recorders- do they sound flat?

Recorder Forum Home Page Forum Recorder Makes, Models and Maintenance Yamaha recorders- do they sound flat?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Merrill Flint
    Participant

I purchased an alto and soprano recorder set from Japan (YRSA-302BIII)- I don’t want anything more expensive since I’m just starting out. I’ve noted that everything I play is on the flat side. I’ve confirmed this with a tuner- I’m often a good 20 cents short of the note I’m fingering. My question is: Did I get a bad recorder or is my technique just bad? If it’s my technique, how can I get a more or less constant “in tune” pitch?
    (note- I did make sure the three pieces were tightly fitted).

Katia J
    Participant

Is this a problem you have on other recorders as well? (I wasn’t clear if you’d tried others.)

How hard are you blowing? I’ve read that some people tend to blow too timidly.

(FWIW– these are good instruments and you won’t need anything more expensive for a long time. It’s also unlikely that you got “bad” instruments, especially since you’ve noticed this on both of them.)

Merrill Flint
    Participant

On further practice, I think it’s probably just a combo of not enough pressure and bad posture. I should know better since I trained as a classical singer for many years. If I stand up straight and breathe like a singer should, I seem to be able to hit the actual note with some degree of accuracy.

Ken In Dallas
    Participant