Looking to get started

Recorder Forum Home Page Forum Teaching and Learning Looking to get started

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Keith Starkey
    Participant

Greetings all,

I’m hoping I have posted this question in the correct forum topic area.
    I’m a 57-year-old former jazz musician, having played trumpet, drums and bass guitar. I grew up in the Bay Area of California, received a strong (informal) music education and do some composing here and there.

In that I don’t play the trumpet, my main ax, anymore (too demanding of facial-muscle upkeep), and I can’t play guitar because of weak wrists, I’d love to get started with the recorder. Because of my musical background, I understand the fingering and the essential technique required to obtain the desired effects of the instrument, and because of the natural music ability I have it won’t take long to accomplish enough growth with the instrument to play it well enough for my own personal enjoyment. (I don’t see ever playing with an ensemble or orchestra, not where I live, but I guess anything can happen, so I’m keeping that in mind as well).

So, the issue at hand is that I have up to about $100 (US) to spend on a recorder. I’m particularly interested in the alto recorder. I want something that doesn’t require a lot of maintenance, is a solid piece of reliable work (consistent build from low to high notes) and will endure through the years to come. For me, it has to be an instrument that’s not all about professional quality as much as it is endurance and a descent, reasonable sound.

I’ve begun researching the recorder so as to get a full and well balanced understanding of the instrument—that’s how I found this site.

So, there you have it. If you have a suggestion for a model I can consider for my needs, please, by all means, post it here. I would be very grateful.

Dick Mattson
    Participant