Distance Between Holes – Plastic Altos

Home Forum Recorder Makes, Models and Maintenance Distance Between Holes – Plastic Altos

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Dee Brougton March 25, 2019 at 9:55 pm.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Dee Brougton
    Participant

I bought a vintage Zen-On, I think it’s probably a 1500, from ebay, because it was a good price for a decent instrument and it sounds good, but it hurts my right wrist to finger. I’m an adult beginner, but I think that the holes are just uncomfortably spaced for my hand. Can anyone compare plastic altos for hole spacing or point me to a site that does? I’m interested in a Ecodear if that might be more comfortable.

Richard Hureau
    Participant

I have a Zen-on 1500, and also a Yamaha Ecodear, an Aulos 509B, Aulos Haka (709B), and the new Zen-0n G-1A (replaces the 1500).

Unfortunately, the 1500 has probably the closest holes of any of these, although they are all VERY similar, except the Aulos Haka, which has very oddly placed holes for the right hand (worse). As far as the Ecodear, the first 2 holes of the right-hand are farther apart than on the 1500; the rest are essentially identical. So it will definitely not fix your problem.

If your right hand is hurting using an alto, I would suggest taking a look at Sarah Jeffery’s YouTube video on how to hold the recorder:

It sounds like you might be flexing your wrist and/or pressing down on the holes too strongly. It’s hard to tell without seeing it, of course. But her video night help.

The only recorder I know of that has easier right-hand hole positions is the Bernolin resin alto:

https://www.bernolin.fr/english/resin.htm

The only trouble is that they cost 400-475 Euros, which is probably outside your price range since you are just beginning.

Dee Brougton
    Participant