Are these recorders still playable?

Recorder Forum Home Page Forum Recorder Makes, Models and Maintenance Are these recorders still playable?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Vincent Brock
    Participant

Hallo dear recorder friends,

I recently got a set of Sopranino, Soprano, Alto, Tenor recorders from my father. He bought them and played them alot in late GDR times (I guess 80s), so they are already kind of worn down. I was really happy to get this present as I’m relatively new to the recorder team. As I first played them I loved the airy, woody sound but later I realised that there are some problems:

Sopranino: Lowest register too flat
    Soprano: high e (half 0 12345) too sharp
    Alto: high a (same fingering) way too sharp
    Tenor: high c and d (01; 1) too flat, e too sharp

In general they tend to be a bit too flat and I really have to blow alot which already affects the sound. Also it’s peculiar that all of them have the high e/a with the same fingering too sharp. Is there a particular reason for this?

I got myself a Yamaha plastic Basset in the beginning of this year, so that’s what I’m used to. It was difficult for me to adjust my breath pressure/speed to the smaller, wooden recorders.

So my questions are:
    Is it me or the instruments?
    Would you say they’re still “playable”?
    Is it possible to fix these issues?
    How is that possible? Is it worth it?

Thank you in advance for your replies. I really hope these instruments can bring me forward on my recorder journey.

I have more pictures but it wasn’t possible to upload them.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    Dick Mattson
    Participant

Hi Vincent–