Alto low notes question

Tagged: 

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Alex C
    Participant

I am new to the recorder and have recently acquired my first, a plastic Triébert alto recorder with F as lowest note. I have been learning the basic fingerings with fairly good success at getting the notes right. However, I more often than not still have issues with playing the low F and G, whereby they will sound an octave higher than expected and the correct pitch sometimes will come after continuing the same breath. This happens even when I blow very gently. Is this a matter of a technique to learn? Is it possible there is something wrong with my recorder? I have entertained the thought of buying another of the same one to see if I have the same issues.

Thanks!
    -Alex

Mihaela Mack
    Participant

Well, it’s probably a combination of both the recorder and your technique. The low notes on an alto recorder are difficult for a beginner. It takes lots of practice. When I first started to play I wanted to throw the recorder out the window. I don’t really find it to be much of an issue any more. This is what helped me:
    1. the foot joint needs to be aligned properly; the pinky needs to reach the holes comfortably. There is a precise spot where that’s occurring. Once you find that spot you should remember where it is.
    2. the breath pressure has to be just right. You can drop your jaw and blow slow, warm air
    3. what helped me the most was to actually hear the pitch in my head before playing. When you do get the note in tune and with a full tone remember what it sounds like
    4. play long tones; play low F for as long as you can hold it (you can use a metronome to time yourself).