aerophone mini?

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    hubba bubba
    Participant

Hi,

sorry for possibly misusing this forum but I am looking for an instrument that I can practice on quietly and that I may be able to teach myself as a beginner.

So now I have discovered the Roland Aerophone Mini (=AE-01) which looks (a bit) like a recorder and so I wonder if anybody ever tried it.

Would that be a good beginner’s instrument?

And apart from that do you think that someone with no prior musical experience can pick up the recorder by using some book/tutorial only?

And If so what book would you recommend for an adult?

Many thanks!

Katia J
    Participant

I’m honestly not sure I’d recommend that sort of instrument for a beginner– you mean a complete beginner to music, right, not just a beginner to that particular instrument?– but maybe I’m just a traditionalist and a Luddite. For your first musical instrument, I would recommend to start with a real analog instrument, not something digital, and not something that expensive.

I understand that you’re worried about volume, but unfortunately there are few ways to get around that when playing a musical instrument.

Try this site for method book recommendations:

https://aswltd.com/adultmet.htm#intro

Richard Hureau
    Participant

Well, you CAN use that Roland Aerophone Mini to play without making any noise at all (it’s electronic and you can play thru earphones, as shown on their website). The fingering is based on the recorder, but it looks somewhat different (those two extra small buttons for the left-hand pinky are decidedly non-standard).

I think you could probably play regular soprano recorder music on it and yes, you could learn music using it. But, as Katia mentions, you could also just buy a very good Aulos or Yamaha plastic soprano recorder for about $10-15 and learn that way, which would be better, I think. Only wrinkle is that it couldn’t be quiet.

Katia J
    Participant